Menu
  1. Home
  2. Departments
  3. Online Services / Make a Payment
  4. Industrial Park
  5. CC Econ. Alliance
  6. News Releases
  7. Residents

Welcome to the City Commission Section


Pictured above (from left):  Commissioner Eric Hufnagel, Vice Mayor Heather Hanover, Mayor Dana Beaman, Commissioner Jean Ruestman and Commissioner Robert Craig.

The City of St Johns practices what is known as the "Commission - Manager" form of city government. 
 
The Commission-Manager form is the system of local government that combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a Commission, with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government Manager. The form establishes a representative system where all power is concentrated in the elected Commission and where the Commission hires a professionally trained Manager to oversee the delivery of public services.

In Commission-Manager government, Commission members are the leaders and policy makers elected to represent the community and to concentrate on policy issues that are responsive to citizens' needs and wishes. The Manager is appointed by the Commission to carry out policy and ensure that the entire community is being served.

The City is treated as a unit for election and general administration purposes.

Commission Meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Monday of the month (except in December only one meeting is held on the 2nd Monday of the month) at 6:00 p.m. in the Clinton County Courthouse, 2nd Floor, Suite 2200.

2018 Regular City Commission Meetings

Click here to View Archived Meeting Agendas & Minutes

City Charter

City of St. Johns
City Commission

6:00 p.m.
Clinton County Courthouse
Board of Commissioners Room
Suite #2200

Monday, January 8, 2018     Monday, January 22, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018   Monday, February 26, 2018
Monday, March 12, 2018   Mondany, March 26, 2018
    Monday, April 23, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018   Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Mondy, June 11, 2018   Monday, June 25, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018   Monday, July 23, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018   Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018   Monday, september 24, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018   Monday, October 22, 2018
Tuesday, November 12, 2018
1st floor conference room
  Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018    

 

Advantages of a City Charter

  • It secures Home Rule for St. Johns. It establishes a simple, direct and businesslike form of government.
  • It creates a single-headed administrative establishment and this administrative unity makes for harmony between departments, since all are subject to a common head.

  • It insures expertness in administration at the point where it is most valuable, namely, at the head.

  • Regular municipal elections will be held every two years, in the fall.

  • It makes elective officers responsive to public opinion by means of the initiative and referendum. It furnishes through the recall a simple method of removing inefficient or corrupt officials.

  • It permits public work to be done by direct labor as well as by contract.

  • It centralizes purchasing, which will effect greater saving in the purchase of supplies.

  • It recognizes the people as the sole sources of governmental power and imposes upon each member of the community the duty and responsibility of actively interesting himself in the affairs of the city.